Who We Are

San Juan Fire District #3, the special district overseeing San Juan Island Fire and Rescue, encompasses all of San Juan Island, including the Town of Friday Harbor; as well as all of Brown, Henry, Johns, Pearl, Spieden and Stuart Islands. San Juan Island is the second-largest and most populous of the San Juan Islands.  The Town of Friday Harbor, on San Juan Island, is the only incorporated town and it is the county seat.

Map of San Juan Fire District 3, as described in main text.
District Map

San Juan Island Fire and Rescue (SJIF&R) provides all-hazard emergency response throughout our district’s islands including emergency medical response, structural and wildland firefighting, search and rescue operations, HAZMAT response, vehicle extrication, marine and other emergencies. Most of our members are dual trained Firefighters and EMTs. We work closely with our neighboring fire districts, San Juan Island EMS, the San Juan County’s sheriff’s department, as well as state and federal emergency services agencies.

As needed, we provide fire response to other non-ferry served islands through a contract with the Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR), fire services .  SJIF&R participates in the Statewide Mobilization Plan and provides mutual aid to neighboring fire districts, as those districts provide mutual aid for our district.

Stations and equipment

There are six fire stations on San Juan Island, and there is a station on Brown Island. San Juan Island Fire and Rescue operates a satellite station on Pearl Island and is staging emergency response equipment on Stuart and Henry Islands. San Juan Island Fire and Rescue provides marine fire, rescue and emergency medical transport to our district, and as needed for all San Juan County Islands.


San Juan Island Fire and Rescue is governed by San Juan County Fire District 3. The state of Washington chartered San Juan Island Fire Department in May of 1959.

In Washington, special purpose districts are limited purpose local governments separate from a city, town, or county government. Generally, they perform limited functions including fire protection, that are not otherwise available from city or county governments.

San Juan County Fire District 3 has an elected, three member board of commissioners. Most special purpose districts in Washington, including San Juan County District 3, derive revenues from real property assessments and are called taxing districts. 

For more information about our board, and the board meeting minutes, please see our Board of Commissioners page.